What's new

Help me understand VPNs

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

bodean

Very Senior Member
I see a lot of talk about people using VPNs. I am wondering if it is something I would benefit on using. Background, I have a home PC and a NAS, with an ASUS AC66U router (which does VPN). I am an airline pilot, on the road a lot with my MacBook Air, using free wifi's at hotels. Would a VPN be something I should be using to ensure safe/secure connections with on hotel wifi's?

Vpn

VPNs have many advantages. There real purpose is to provide more secure communications on the Internet by encrypting your traffic.

VPNs can be used in several ways:

You can run a VPN on your home router and a VPN client on your PC. With this setup you can have a very secure encrypted connection from your PC to your home network.

Another option is to sign up with a VPN provider and run your or their VPN client software on your PC. Then when you sign onto the internet using WiFi in hotels coffee shops, airports, etc. you are better protected from signing onto a "faked" WiFi access point that has the ability to log all your traffice and perhaps steal passwords. When I go into an Admirals Club and see various SSIDs how can I tell if I am signing onto an access point run by AA or Joe the hacker sitting in a chair across from me?

The VPN provided by a vendor (for a monthly fee ) can also be run on your home router to partially secure your Internet traffic. Once it leaves the server of the VPN provider it is in the clear again and is no longer encrypted. I use this setup figuring some protection is better than none and when using a VPN my ISP has no idea who or where I am connecting with.